The Global Peace Photography Awards 2020

Global Peace Photography Awards 2020

About the Global Peace Photography Awards 2020

The Alfred Fried Photography Award will be held under the new name Global Peace Photo Award, inspired by 1911 Nobel Peace Laureates Alfred Fried and Tobias Asser.

This Award recognizes and promotes photographers from all over the world whose pictures capture human efforts towards a peaceful world and the quest for beauty and goodness in our lives. The award goes to those photographs that best express the idea that our future lies in peaceful coexistence.

Submit entries for the 2020 IPA Oneshot/Movement Photography Awards ($4,500 prizes)

Call for entries for the 2020 Contest

We invite you to enter your images for the 2020 Global Peace Photo Award.

Entry deadline: 24th of May, 2020
Entry fee: None

How to submit entries

Upload your entry via the submission page (link at the bottom of this page) as a .jpg file or files with more than 3000 pixels on the longest side. Images that qualify as an entry must not have any embedded marks, logos, names or borders. After submission, you can make changes to your entries or delete them at any time prior to the deadline. You however need to finalise and submit your entry before the entry deadline.

Apply for the Everything Change Climate Fiction Contest 2020

Children’s Peace Image of the Year

Are you 14 years or younger? Enter your photos for the Children’s Peace Image of the Year!


The top five listed photographers will be awarded the Alfred Fried Peace Medal. The Peace Image of the Year will receive €10,000. The winning picture will be on display for one year at the Austrian Parliament and will be included in the permanent art collection of the Austrian Parliament.

Apply for The Writer Contest (Spring 2020 Short Story Contest)

Award Ceremony

All winners will be invited to Vienna to the award ceremony at the Austrian

Parliament on 17 September 2020.


All entrants will have the chance to take part in worldwide exhibitions.

The Global Peace Photo Award (formerly the Alfred Fried Photography Award) is organized by Edition Lammerhuber in partnership with Photographische Gesellschaft (PHG), UNESCO, Austrian Parliament, Austrian Parliamentary Reporting Association, International Press Institute (IPI), German Youth Photography Award and the World Press Photo Foundation. It is supported by Edition Lammerhuber, GEWISTA, Megaboard, Vienna Insurance Group, Fleming’s Hotels Vienna, Alte Spinnerei, Cyberlab and FOTO objektiv

Apply for The 2020 Slackjaw Humor Writing Challenge (cash prizes & bragging rights)

Further details and application

For technical questions, kindly send an email to

For other questions, send an email to (in English or German)

Read the frequently asked questions (FAQs) and terms

Visit the program website